A channel letter manufacturer builds the illuminated letters your sign company sells and installs. You own the client, the permit and the install. The manufacturer owns fabrication, the lighting inside each letter, and the crate.
You carry the client risk when the factory misses the approved spec. Supplier problems show up at inspection, or when one letter fails in year two.
Быстрый ответ:
Check six things before you compare prices.
- Production capability. Which processes the factory runs itself, shown with photos and records.
- Drawing review. A dimensioned shop drawing you approve before anything is cut.
- Materials. Every material written as a value you can check, not “premium.”
- Lighting tests. Aging, illumination and water checks, with records you can see.
- Delivery scope. Letters, LEDs, power supplies, template, wiring diagram and packing, each named.
- After-sales. A written warranty term, a claim process, and specs kept for reorders.
Two rules turn these checks into a decision. Compare prices only after both suppliers quote the same approved spec. Then choose the supplier with the fewest unresolved evidence gaps, not the lowest price.
This guide uses SignliteLED’s own drawing, photos and inspection checklist as worked examples. SignliteLED builds LED illuminated letters and the LED modules and power supplies inside them.
How to Verify Manufacturing Capabilities

Verify a channel letter manufacturer by matching each claimed process to evidence. Then ask which steps happen in-house and which go out.
Match each step to evidence
SignliteLED publishes a five-step production flow. Request one record for every step that affects your order.
| Production step | What happens | Evidence to request |
| Logo and project review | Artwork, size and site conditions checked | Written review notes or marked-up artwork |
| Engineering drawings | Shop drawing with dimensions, mounting and electrics | Drawing with revision number and approval block |
| Material and lighting selection | Face, return, LED module and driver chosen | Material schedule and LED layout |
| Production and quality inspection | Cutting, forming, assembly, then testing | Process photos and test records for your job |
| Packaging and delivery | Packing, labeling, shipping documents | Packing photos and packing list |
Ask what runs in-house and what goes out
Ask where each of these steps happens. Faces and backs are CNC-routed. Returns are shaped on automatic channel letter benders. Stainless letters often use fiber-laser cutting and laser welding. Finishing may mean painting or powder coating.
Then come LED fitting, wiring, aging tests, water checks and packing. Ask for a written list showing where each step happens. A factory that outsources one step can still be a good partner. The risk is not knowing which step leaves the building. For rollouts, ask how much weekly capacity your order needs in your window. Also ask for the smallest letter height and stroke each supplier lights evenly. SignliteLED builds letters from 100 mm tall.
On a live video call, ask to see these steps on your job. A generic factory video does not prove your order uses that process. Identity checks are covered in our guide to LED letter sign manufacturers in China.
Check test equipment, not just test claims
“Tested before shipment” is only a claim. Ask for the equipment, the method, the duration and a record from your job. SignliteLED lists its factory and testing equipment publicly:
- Вечно-дистримерный фотометр
- Вечно интегрирующая сфера
- Машина для тестирования соли
- High-temperature and high-humidity chambers
The factory covers 3,000 m² with 100 to 200 staff. It has completed over 1,000 custom samples.
Set an evidence bar before you shortlist. Accept a capability claim only after three checks. First, a document such as a process list or test report. Second, live evidence on a video call. Third, a record from your own job, like dated photos or a test sheet. A factory tour supports a claim. Only your job record proves it.
Certificates: check what each one covers
In the US, NEC section 600.3 requires electric signs to be listed and labeled. The local authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) decides how it applies. UL 48 is the standard for the finished electric sign. UL 879 covers sign components. UL 879A covers LED sign and retrofit kits, per UL Solutions.
So a UL-certified module or power supply does not make the finished letter listed. Ask for the file number and look it up in UL продукт IQ. Confirm the listing names the supplier and covers signs, not just parts.
The marking rules also changed. UL revised UL 48 in December 2023, per UL Solutions. The International Sign Association reports it took effect on July 1, 2024. It applies to qualifying multi-housing signs, such as letters joined by Class 2 wiring. There, the housing with branch-circuit power carries the certification mark. That is usually the power supply enclosure or raceway. In those arrangements, each letter no longer needs its own mark. The ISA flagged this change because some inspectors still expect per-letter labels. Confirm the marking with your listing body and AHJ. Then show it on the drawing.
Other markets use other rules. In Canada, signs are certified to CSA C22.2 No. 207, with a CSA, cUL or cETL mark. In the EU, ask for a Declaration of Conformity that names your product. A CE logo on a website is not that document.
Can the supplier repeat the same result on the next order?
A sign company rarely buys once. Store number six has to match store one. So ask what the factory keeps after shipment. Look for the approved drawing revision and material records. Look for LED model, color-bin and finish records too. Ask how long it keeps them. Then ask whether a reorder can be quoted straight from the stored file.
What to Check in Materials and Lighting Specifications

A material or lighting spec is only useful if you can check it. That means a thickness, a model number or a rating, never “premium” or “high-grade.”
The values below are illustrative buyer baselines from common North American builds. They are not code requirements. Confirm the final spec for each project. Then reject any quote that uses vague wording instead of a value.
| Vague wording | Verifiable version | How you check it |
| “Premium acrylic face” | 3/16″ (about 5 mm) acrylic, stated color and type | Material schedule and a face sample |
| “Heavy-gauge returns” | .040″ or .063″ aluminum, stated depth (3″ and 5″ are common) | Material schedule and drawing section |
| “Sturdy back” | .063″ or .080″ aluminum, or 3/16″ clear polycarbonate on halo letters | Material schedule |
| “Clean trim” | 3/4″ or 1″ trim cap, or a stated trimless build | Drawing detail and sample |
| “Rust-proof” | 304 stainless, or 316 for coastal salt air | Material certificate |
| “Bright LEDs” | Module model, SMD 2835 (or 5050 for RGB), about 160° lens, quantity per letter | LED layout and datasheet |
| “Even color” | 3-step MacAdam binning, one bin across the set | Datasheet and lit sample |
| “Waterproof” | IP rating of the named part, plus drain holes in the letter | Test record and drawing |
| “Reliable driver” | Brand and model, loaded at or below about 80% | Power schedule |
| “Works on any power” | Driver input range that covers your site supply (US buildings often run 120 V or 277 V) | Driver datasheet |
| “Long life” | L70 hours and warranty years, stated separately | Datasheet and warranty terms |
SignliteLED letters run 100 to 2,000 mm tall and 30 to 150 mm deep. LEDs run on DC 12 V or 24 V. The Mean Well XLG drivers we specify accept 100 to 305 V AC input. Color runs from 2700K to 6500K, plus RGB and RGBW.
What does an IP rating prove?
IP ratings come from IEC 60529, as the IEC explains. The first digit covers dust. The second covers water.
- IP65: dust-tight, and protected against water jets. The test uses a 6.3 mm nozzle at 12.5 L/min, for 3 minutes minimum.
- IP67: dust-tight, and protected during temporary immersion. The test holds the part underwater at 1 m for 30 minutes.
IP ratings create two separate risks on assembled letters. IP67 does not prove jet resistance, so ask for both ratings if both apply. And an IP67 module does not make the letter IP67. Water gets in through seams and cable entries.
So UL 48 calls for drain openings at the low points of outdoor signs. Round openings run from 1/4″ to 1/2″ in diameter. Check that your shop drawing shows them.
Lighting tests worth asking for
Ask which of these each supplier runs, and for how long:
- An aging or burn-in test with every letter lit
- An illumination check for hot spots and dark strokes
- A color check across the whole set, not one letter at a time
- A water check on the assembled letter
Aging times vary from supplier to supplier. Compare the hours and the pass criteria in writing.
To choose the spec itself, read the guide to specifying illuminated channel letter signs. The breakdown of LED lighting used inside sign letters covers module choice. You can also compare Светодиодные знаки и waterproof LED power supplies by model.
What Drawings and Samples Should You Approve?

Approve a shop drawing before production. It should show dimensions, stroke width, depth, fixing points, wire exits and finish. For color-critical or first orders, also approve a physical sample, lit and unlit.
What a production-ready shop drawing shows
A drawing you can sign off should answer every question an installer will ask. Look for these items:
- Overall dimensions, character heights and the dimensional tolerance
- Stroke width, especially on thin strokes that are hard to light evenly
- Letter depth, which affects light spread and hot spots
- Fixing points, with stud or anchor positions
- Wire exit positions, matched to the wall and raceway
- Surface finish, with a color reference for face, return and trim
- Светодиодная план и power supply location
- Drain openings on outdoor letters
- Revision number and an approval block
SignliteLED starts production only after the drawing is confirmed. The installation drawing adds hole locations, wiring layouts and power supply recommendations. Send vector artwork in AI, PDF, EPS or CDR format. The drawing then starts from clean outlines.
When is a physical sample worth the delay?

A sample delays production, so save it for higher-risk orders. Require one for a new supplier or a brand color. Require one for an unusual finish or a multi-site rollout. A repeat of an approved design can usually run from the stored sample.
Check the sample twice. Once in daylight, for color and finish. Once in the dark, for brightness, hot spots and halo spread. Still choosing the lighting style? Compare front-lit vs halo-lit letters before ordering a sample.
The approved sample then becomes the production reference. Production should run from one approved revision only. Any change after approval needs a new revision number and your sign-off.
How to Compare Two Manufacturer Quotations

Two channel letter quotes only compare fairly once both describe the same spec. Anything missing from one quote is a question, not a saving.
Send both suppliers the same written RFQ first. Our RFQ checklist for LED letter sign manufacturers lists what to include. Then line the answers up item by item.
Quote A and Quote B below are illustrative, not real companies.
| Артикул | Your spec | Quote A | Quote B | What to ask |
| Letter size and quantity | 600 mm tall, 120 mm deep, 12 letters | Matches | Matches | ни один |
| грань | 3/16″ white acrylic | “Acrylic” | 3/16″ white acrylic | Which thickness and type? |
| Returns | .040″ aluminum, painted to RAL | Matches | Matches | ни один |
| Светодиодные модули | Named model, stated quantity | “LED modules” | Model and quantity per letter | Which model, how many per letter? |
| Электропитание | Named model, loaded at or below 80% | Not stated | Brand, model and load | Which driver, at what load? |
| Входное напряжение | Matches site supply, e.g. 120 V | Not stated | 100 to 305 V AC | Will the driver run on my site supply? |
| защита от воды | IP rating of named part, drain holes | “IP65” | Module IP67, drain holes shown | Does the rating cover the module or the letter? |
| Drawings | Shop drawing and LED layout | Shop drawing only | оба | Will you supply an LED layout? |
| Template and wiring diagram | Included | Not mentioned | Included | Is a full-size template included? |
| Sample | Quoted separately | Not offered | Quoted with lead time | What does a sample cost? |
| Упаковка | Crate, face film, neutral labels | “Standard packing” | Crate, film, labels | What does “standard” mean? |
| Outgoing inspection | Record ships with order | Not mentioned | Checklist and photos | Will I get the inspection record? |
| время | Days after drawing approval | “15 days” | 15 days after drawing approval | Counted from which milestone? |
| Гарантия | Term, parts, freight | Term only | Term and claim process | Who pays replacement freight? |
| Exclusions | Listed in writing | None listed | Freight and duties excluded | What exactly is excluded? |
| Delivery term | Incoterms 2020 rule and named place | “Shipping included” | FOB Shenzhen | Which rule, and which place? |
| Quote validity | Stated period | Not stated | Stated period | How long is this price valid? |
Quote A may well be cheaper. The missing scope items explain the gap. They come back later as invoices or site delays. So set one rule. If either quote leaves a major item unnamed, don’t rank on price yet.
Agree payment terms in writing too. Tie the final balance to the outgoing inspection record. Our guide to LED letter sign manufacturers in China covers payment-term questions. For delivery, name the Incoterms 2020 rule and the exact place. The rule and named place set where risk passes to you.
Questions to Ask About Lead Time, Packaging and Warranty
Ask what starts the production clock and how letters are packed and checked. Then ask what the warranty pays for. These terms change your delivered cost and your risk if things go wrong.
время
- What starts the clock: drawing approval, sample approval or deposit?
- Is the quoted figure production time or arrival time?
- What transit time applies to sea freight and to air freight?
- What happens to the date if the drawing changes?
- Will you get photos before dispatch?
- What notice and remedy apply if a milestone slips?
Упаковка
Letters travel a long way before your installer sees them. Acrylic scratches. Returns dent. Labels fall off. Ask for face film and a label on every letter. Large sets need bagged accessories and a crate. Packing photos record each crate’s condition before dispatch.
The outgoing inspection checklist
Ask each supplier for the checklist they complete before shipping. SignliteLED runs structural, lighting, waterproof and quality inspections before every shipment. Use the table below as a baseline for any supplier:
| чек | метод | Pass standard |
| Размеры | Measured against the approved drawing | Within the tolerance printed on the drawing |
| Finish and color | Compared with the approved sample | Matches sample |
| освещение | Every letter lit | No dead modules, hot spots or dark strokes |
| Консистенция цвета | Whole set lit together | One visible white across the set |
| стареющий | Set run lit for the stated hours | No failures during the test |
| защита от воды | Seams, cable entries and drain holes checked | Sealed, drains open |
| Электропитание | Model checked against the spec | Matches the power schedule |
| Аксессуары | Counted against the packing list | Complete |
| Documents | Template and wiring diagram packed | Present |
| Labels and packing | Letter labels, face film, crate | Photographed |
ISO 2859-1 sets AQL sampling plans for lots of repeated items. A custom letter set is small, and every letter differs. That can justify 100% inspection as your own requirement. Ask for every letter to be lit and checked.
Гарантия
SignliteLED products carry a 3 to 5 year warranty, depending on the product. Get the term for your specific order in writing. Then ask how a claim works:
- What evidence you need to send, such as photos or video
- Whether replacement parts, freight and labor are covered
- Whether the factory keeps your specs and color bin on file
Stored specs help the factory match a replacement letter to the rest. A module from a different color bin glows a visibly different white.
To compare warranty offers, put them side by side. Check coverage, exclusions, the evidence required, freight, labor and response time. A longer term with narrow coverage can be worth less than a shorter one.
Also keep warranty years apart from rated life. L70 is a rated-life figure. It marks when light output falls to 70% of its initial value. It is not a warranty period. See warranty years vs rated lifetime for how the two differ.
Channel Letter Supplier Evaluation Checklist

Use this checklist before you choose a channel letter supplier. Each line names the evidence to ask for. Tick an item only after you receive acceptable evidence.
Before shortlisting
- Quote states finished letters or components only
- In-house and outsourced steps listed in writing
- Production photos or a live walkthrough on your job
- Test equipment shown, with aging and water records
- Certificates name the exact product they cover
- UL file number checked in Product iQ (US projects)
- Smallest letter height and stroke width confirmed
- Named project contact and response time agreed
Reviewing the quote
- Face, return, back and trim stated as values
- LED module model, quantity and layout named
- Power supply brand, model and load named
- Driver input voltage matches your site supply
- Mounting hardware and spare parts listed
- IP rating names the part it covers
- Template, wiring diagram and packing marked included or excluded
- Neutral packing and artwork confidentiality confirmed if you resell
- Lead time states what starts the clock
- Late-delivery notice and remedy agreed
- Exclusions and quote validity stated
- Final payment balance tied to the inspection record
Before approving production
- Shop drawing shows all nine items above
- LED layout and power supply location approved
- Sample approved by day and by night, if needed
- Approved revision number recorded
Before shipment
- Outgoing inspection checklist completed and shared
- Packing photos received
- Warranty term and claim process confirmed in writing
- Specs and color bin kept on file for reorders
Pass rule: an unresolved item in the first three groups means not ready yet. Treat missing certification, drawing, material or inspection evidence as high risk. Resolve high-risk gaps before you rank suppliers by price. Rank the suppliers who pass using our weighted supplier scorecard.
Request a Manufacturing Feasibility Assessment
Before you commit to a channel letter manufacturer, test the job for feasibility. SignliteLED reviews your artwork for build and lighting risks before production.
Send us:
- Vector artwork in AI, PDF, EPS or CDR format
- Overall size and letter height
- Lighting style: front-lit, halo-lit or both
- Installation site, wall type and exposure
- Quantity and delivery destination
Within 24 hours, you receive engineering drawings, material recommendations and a preliminary quotation. Contact our engineering team to start a feasibility assessment. Or browse our custom channel letters first.
Часто задаваемые вопросы
A channel letter manufacturer fabricates illuminated letters for sign companies to sell and install. LED modules and power supplies usually come fitted. A full order also includes a mounting template, a wiring diagram and export packing. Scope varies by supplier, so confirm each item before you approve.
A channel letter manufacturer builds hollow letters with returns and internal lighting. A sign letter manufacturer can also make flat-cut, acrylic or non-illuminated dimensional letters. Many factories do both. SignliteLED makes illuminated channel letters, edge-lit acrylic letters and non-illuminated 3D letters. The checks in this guide apply to any custom sign letters manufacturer.
Buy finished letters if you lack forming equipment or capacity. Buy components if you already fabricate returns in-house. Either way, the module, driver and layout decide how letters look at night. SignliteLED supplies both finished letters and the modules and drivers inside them.
A good quotation names the face, return and back materials with thicknesses. It names the LED module, the power supply and its load. It states what the IP rating covers. It lists the template, wiring diagram, packing and inspection record. It also gives the lead time trigger and warranty terms. Anything unnamed should be listed as excluded.
Verify each production step with a photo or record from your own order. Ask for a written list of in-house and outsourced steps. Ask to see test equipment on a live call. SignliteLED lists its photometer, integrating sphere, salt spray tester and humidity chambers publicly. A factory tour supports a claim, but only your job record proves it.
No. A component listing does not list the finished electric sign. UL 879 covers sign components, and UL 48 covers finished signs. In the US, NEC 600.3 requires the sign itself to be listed and labeled. Ask for the sign listing’s file number and check it in UL Product iQ.
Two quotes usually differ because they describe different materials, parts or services. One may leave out the driver, the template or the crate. Another may use thinner returns or unnamed LED modules. Line both quotes up against one spec, item by item, before comparing price.
Check the dimensions, stroke width, letter depth, fixing points, wire exits and surface finish. Also check the LED layout, power supply location and drain openings on outdoor letters. The drawing needs a revision number and an approval block. Production should run from that approved revision only.
A feasibility assessment checks whether your design can be built and lit as drawn. It reviews thin strokes, letter depth, LED layout, mounting and wire exits. SignliteLED returns drawings, material advice and a preliminary quote within 24 hours.
Warranty terms vary by manufacturer, product and coverage. SignliteLED offers a 3 to 5 year warranty, depending on the product. Get the term for your order in writing. Also confirm who pays for replacement parts, freight and labor.
Написано: Ричард Лян, менеджер по продуктам и процессу в SignliteLED
Техническая проверка: Джейсон Чен, лидер НИОКР в Signliteled
Электронная почта: info@signliteled.com





